Home » Uncategorized » All I want for Valentine’s Day is my two front teeth…

All I want for Valentine’s Day is my two front teeth…

…Well, not mine. Little guy is in misery. 

The poor baby can’t sleep and just kind of whimpers all day when he is not chewing on absolutely everything he can get his little grip on. I know this teething affliction can’t be avoided, so I have spent some considerable time searching for ways to alleviate the discomfort without resorting to medicine. I’ve come up with a few things that work best for us. These tips are not new, I just wanted to offer a summary of the advice I’ve gotten and what has worked best.

Ice in the pacifier. I read this tip online somewhere when I was pregnant and thought it was kind of odd. But desperation can make a lot of crazy things sane, so I gave it a try. Once little guy was cleared by the pediatrician to drink a little water, I decided to try this trick. Compress the bulb of a pacifier and submerge it in a glass of water to fill the bulb part-way with water, then throw it in the freezer. He absolutely loved this. It was like the teething ring, but he didn’t need to hold it and test his luck with his sometimes shaky hand-eye coordination.

Sophie the Giraffe. When I got pregnant, mom friends couldn’t stop buzzing about this little rubber toy. My aunt was kind enough to give it to us as a shower gift.  I have to say, when I opened it I was unimpressed. It just looks like a cute little animal toy that squeaks so my dogs also find it irresistible (which is a bit of an issue!) However, this little toy seems to be the only thing that comforts little guy sometimes. I think it must be just the right texture and size for his little hands. I do well to never leave it at home!

My fingers.  I was hesitant about trying this one (um, ouch!), but my neighbor recommended it as the one thing that really helped her boys when they were teething. So I wash my hands really well and just sort of gently rub his gums and let him chew. It’s mesmerizing. And it seems to let him know I know what is hurting and I’m trying to help. That last part may be totally in my head, but it makes me feel better.

Distraction. Little guy is at an awesome age where movement really fascinates him. He loves to to try to anticipate my moves when I tickle him, or to fly like and airplane, or drop like an elevator when I do squats. It is one heck of a workout “flying” him all around the house and squatting with him (did I mention he’s 21 lbs at 6 months?!) Plus, he is just starting the belly laugh, and that is worth anything I can do to hear that adorable giggle.

Cuddles. I’m sleep deprived, so the constant neediness that accompanies teething can definitely be trying on my nerves and patience. But I am not the one going through the teething, and I know this won’t last forever. The best remedy I’ve found so far is lots of cuddle time and compassion. So for two nights in a row, I waited patiently while he fell asleep in my arms on the couch, since he seems too fidgety and uncomfortable to fall asleep like he normally does. One day I will be sad he doesn’t want to fly around like an airplane or fall asleep on my chest. 

It’s another phase that won’t last forever, but I sure do hope little guy feels better soon.

11 thoughts on “All I want for Valentine’s Day is my two front teeth…

  1. Oh…I remember those inconsolable days. Have you tried oragel? It numbs the gums. I’m not sure if you consider that “medicine.” It helped my kids. I wish your child a speedy birth of his two front teeth. 🙂

  2. Aww poor little one, im really lucky..Rio’s teeth just seem to pop up over night with no signs what so ever. Im the same, getting as many cuddles in as possible now before he’s at that age where he doesnt want mummy cuddles 😦 boo!

    walkingtalkingpollypocket.blogspot.com

  3. I firmly believe Sophie is laced with something…

    I enjoyed this post very much. We are going through so many of the same trials and tribulations right now. But aren’t we lucky to be doing so!

  4. Frozen waffles! Or frozen pancakes or frozen peach slices. All things that seemed to bring relief for us or friends of ours. Getting teeth is really awful, from everything I can tell. Good thing it happens before long term memory kicks in. 🙂

  5. Lots of TLC to your little one. I remember those days (with my first daughter)…. I used to put her pacifiers in the refrigerator that worked wonders! Also giving him a cold carrot to chew on. I used orajel once, but did not seem to work; I bought this wonderful homeapathic tablets by Hylands, they worked very well.

Leave a comment