Home » Uncategorized » It won’t be like this for long

It won’t be like this for long

My husband and I are both a little sleep deprived this morning. For the fourth night in a row, our 5-month-old son has not slept much, and therefore neither have we. 

Pretty much sums it up…

Since he was born, he has never been a very good sleeper. Since I’ve been home (for over a month now) I’ve been trying to ease him into some kind of schedule, while hoping he will remain flexible enough for the occasional outing or visit.

No such luck. He seems to want to eat, sleep, and play at random. Over the last week, I’ve managed to get the day schedule to have some semblance of structure, but the nights are always wild cards. 

We’ve gotten all kinds of advice, and tried everything short of the cry-it-out method, which most of my relatives insist is the piece of the puzzle I’m missing. While I pass no judgment on those who do this, I simply don’t want to. I suffered no lifelong psychological ills from this method being applied to me as a baby. Likewise, I really don’t believe not letting my son cry-it-out is somehow crippling his ability to be an independent sleeper in the future. It is simply a matter of preference.

So, I will press on trying to console him to sleep in some form or another. Lavender nighttime baths, nursing, rocking, singing, a funny little creature that projects blue stars onto the ceiling. And I will resign to the fact that this is a phase, like a zillion others I will face before I’m done raising babies.

This morning, while my little guy was belly-laughing in his high chair at my funny faces, I heard a song that happened to perfectly fit the moment. It won’t be like this for long. The sleepless nights go hand-in-hand with the most beautiful mornings I have ever had. 

Even if the sleeplessness seems like it will last forever, this moment in my and my son’s lives will be gone long before I truly appreciate them. Soon, I will be worrying about teenage driving, grades, and my baby leaving home. So, for now I will try my best to be present in the moment and try to remember to enjoy the fleeting joys of babyhood. 

 

10 thoughts on “It won’t be like this for long

  1. No matter what other people tell you, if you don’t feel comfortable to do it, it’s not going to work! If you are not ready to try the cry it out method, don’t. Babies only begin to establish a day-night cycle around 4-5 months, so he is still in time. I don’t want to give advice but I would just try to figure out what are the factors that do help him sleep better. Keeping a sleep log sometimes helps. I hope you sleep better this week! 🙂

    • Thanks! I actually started keeping a sleep/eat log on my phone and it has helped me realize I am part of the problem. I get scatterbrained and don’t stick to my self-designed schedule, but keeping a record helps keep me in check.

      • 🙂 Another way sleep logs can be helpful is to register what happens before and after sleep, in order to see what factors are helpful or not. For example, does a bath before help him go to sleep or make him more excited and less likely to sleep? do you need to hold him and walk around or can he be laying down but with you by his side? can you put him down when he is drowsy or does he have to be completely asleep? That way you get to see what has been working better.

        Wishes of sweet dreams to all the family!

  2. I remember going through this with my first boy too. I didn’t want to do the control crying method either and for the same reason as you…not because I disagree with those who did, I just didn’t feel it was right for us. Through the many hours each night I would consol myself by soaking up as many hugs as I could because I know that one day, when he is a teenager, I’ll be pressed to get more than a single word answer when I ask how his day was, let alone a cuddle from my big boy. The days fly by and before you know it, your little boy will be in a big bed…if you are still having to sit with him in the first few months of this transistion, I can highly recommend getting a bed with a trundle bed so that you can lay down beside him and avoid laying on the floor like I did. Thank you for sharing and being finding a really respectful way to express your choices as a parent. Enjoy 🙂

    • Good thought about the trundle bed–I bet I’ll be in a whole different world of trouble when we make the change to a big boy bed. I feel the same way about getting as many hugs in as I can now. I know it probably won’t be too long before he will be too “big” for my hugs 😦

      Thanks for your comment!

  3. I remember going through this with my first boy too. I didn’t want to do the control crying method either and for the same reason as you…not because I disagree with those who did, I just didn’t feel it was right for us. Through the many hours each night I would consol myself by soaking up as many hugs as I could because I know that one day, when he is a teenager, I’ll be pressed to get more than a single word answer when I ask how his day was, let alone a cuddle from my big boy. The days fly by and before you know it, your little boy will be in a big bed…if you are still having to sit with him in the first few months of this transistion, I can highly recommend getting a bed with a trundle bed so that you can lay down beside him and avoid laying on the floor like I did. Thank you for sharing and finding a really respectful way to express your choices as a parent. Enjoy 🙂

  4. I remember these days and they were rough and heart wrenching. It’s really tough. I couldn’t do the crying-it-out method for a long time either. (We did end up doing it after a very long time and when I timed it, it was maybe five minutes? But he was old enough that I could handle it.) We did a lot of different things too. You’ll find something that works for your family. My daughter was easier. She sucked her thumb. 😉 Good luck.

  5. I personally couldnt do that mehod either. The sound of his cry breaks my heart. Rio slept through from 12 weeks but now at 9months he’s started waking for a bottle or two in the night. I know he will eventually get back into a routine so atm im just going with it. Good luck 🙂 x

    walkingtalkingpollypocket.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

